What I’m Reading

No matter what news source I’m reading, my brain and eyes immediately register “lightning strike.” It’s without fail the first click I make with my mouse. Today, I stumbled upon an article titled “Edwards County man struck by lightning while sleeping” featured on KSAT.com, which was featured CNN U.S.‘s homepage.

Apparently, Cheval Silva was struck by lightning while soundly sleeping in his house. The article reads, “A bolt of lightning had come through the roof and struck his shoulder and exited his foot, catching both him and his favorite chair on fire.”

Luckily for Silva, and his granddaughter who was sleeping nearby and unharmed, he only sustained some nerve damage.

Articles such as this have been featured on the blog from time to time. They always get me thinking why some live while others die from a lightning strike. There’s no rhyme or reason…the only comfort I’ve received, to this day, is to think those who have died from a lightning strike had bigger plans in store “upstairs.” Yup, I’m going with that.

2 Comments

Filed under News, Personal

2 responses to “What I’m Reading

  1. Chavel Silva

    Hello, I to wonder why some are killed and some are spared, as my name is Chavel Silva, and I am the man from Edwards Co. who was struck by lightning. I ‘m left wondering, is it a miracle I’m alive? Or am I such a bad person that this is a warning. I never considered myself as a bad person, as I’m the kind of guy who opens doors for a lady, gets milk of the top shelf for elderly people who can’t reach. Almost a month later, I’ve been hospitalized and I had to endure an operation to remove dead tissue from my right ankle, and still face one or two more sessions in the O.R. This, when I was just a guy trying to show my little granddaughter a good time on my ranch in the country. Still can’t bear weight on my right foot. Will probably walk with a cane for the rest of my life, if I’m lucky. Miracle or warning, I don’t know. I do however, continue to pay for an evening where, I wasn’t doing anything wrong. I was just trying to show my granddaughter a good time.

  2. jleh0628

    Mr. Silva,

    Welcome to my little blog – I’m glad you found me! It is a pleasure to hear from you. Miracle or warning, as you stated – I’m not able to say. Lucky, yes…most definitely.

    You hit the nail on the head, so to speak when you said, that you “continue to pay for an evening where I wasn’t doing anything wrong.” I often struggle with that concept. My dear friend was playing soccer with friends; clearly nothing was “wrong” with that. You were enjoying grandfather-granddaughter time; there’s nothing “wrong” with that either!

    You are blessed to be alive and continue to make memories with your granddaughter, other relatives and friends. Cherish those moments, no matter how many surgeries or complications you experience (I sincerely hope that this surgery will be your last and that your right foot will completely heal), because many others weren’t lucky enough to have the chance to do so.

    All the best, sir. And, please, visit from time to time. I’d love to have you.

    – Jessica

Leave a Reply

