If Red Light is On, You Are Off

Pascack Valley High School in Hillsdale, N.J. holds a near and dear place in my heart. It was there that my friendships from middle school solidified, it was there where I made new lasting friendships, and it was there that I grew into my own skin.

This weekend, I made a trip home to North Jersey and had the opportunity to attend a football game at PVHS. As I was leaving the field and walking past the tennis courts, I noticed this sign.

Sign on Pascack Valley H.S.'s Tennis Courts

Sign on tennis courts

PVHS is one of the locations where Hillsdale has their lightning detection. The rules are simple: When the alarm sounds and the red light flashes, evacuate the field immediately.

Check back shortly for a slideshow featuring other images of lightning detection systems at locations in Hillsdale and River Vale.

1 Comment

Filed under News, Personal

One response to “If Red Light is On, You Are Off

  1. This is a really good idea. I wish my town had something like this growing up. With so many little kids in my neighborhood and the little league fields being such a popular place during the summer, I would hope my town could install something like this. We had a similar situation with several students getting hit by lightning but luckily the one student only was injured and out of commission for a few months.

Leave a Reply

